Movie Unit Promotional Stills Photography

Location Hunting: West Dean

It’s not common for me to pursue photography outside of work any more, the amount of time and work that goes into a good photograph can make it hard for it to be as fun, or entertaining as something else I take less seriously, such as awful drunken dancing.

However, when my girlfriend tells me that we’re going on a two day “staycation*” in one of Britain’s most beautiful gardens, it’s hard to not enjoy photographing everything around me.

Where did we go? We stayed in the grounds of West Dean College for two nights. It has some of the most stunning gardens and flowers I’ve ever seen. I can’t help but feel that the whole thing is wasted on me, since I can barely tell the difference between a Dandelion and an Evergreen Fern, but I can at least take some pictures and make it look pretty for everyone else to appreciate.

I didn’t have much time to take photos, probably only a couple hours at most, so I figured it would be prudent to make the effort productive as well as fun.

Shooting without purpose is terrible for me, so I gave myself a handful of tasks to complete:

1. Scout the location, and take characterful landscape / architectural photos for my fellow film producer friends.
2. Take some test Large Format photographs, finish off my box of colour film.
3. Photograph some of the flowers
4. Generate content for the blog

Enough words now! Bathe in the radiant light of a summery West Sussex. (click for larger pictures)

West Dean

West Dean

West Dean

IMG_3900

West Dean

Beautiful isn’t it? However, as a photographer / filmmaker, there is one part of this facility that is rife with cinematic / photogenic potential.

West Dean

West Dean

Personally, I can’t believe that plants this good looking are even capable of growing in England, the head gardeners here must be magicians,

West Dean

West Dean

West Dean

Absolutely stunning. Tricky exposure aside, it’s really really hard to take a bad picture in these grounds. As I stated before, one of my goals was to fire off the last two colour photos of my current pack of 5×4 film. I’ve yet to see the results, but hopefully everything went as planned. Naturally I couldn’t help but take some photos of the Graflex camera while here!

Graflex at West Dean

Graflex at West Dean

Graflex at West Dean, preteding to be part of a Scottish Widow advert.

Over the next few days, I’ll be posting photos of pretty flowers, and I’ll release some wallpapers for those who prefer to have their computers decorated with flowers rather than blurry cityscapes.

*I say staycation, however when you spend 6am-7pm on your laptop writing emails and making phone calls, it’s hard to call it much more than “work with a nice background”. I’m a terrible boyfriend.
One response

  1. Jane Neike

    I recognise most of these photos, I use to go to school at West Dean!!

    September 9, 2013 at 10:35 am

Leave a Reply

